Back

Tapestry with a “feuilles d’aristoloche” design

Audernarde, circa 1550‑1570
Enquire

Details

Wool and silk
320 × 525 cm (125 ⁶³/₆₄ x 206 ¹¹/₁₆ in.)

Provenance

Private collection, France

Comparative bibliography

Cavallo A., Medieval Tapestries in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, 1993, cat. 52b, p. 602

Back
Tapestry with a “feuilles d’aristoloche” design - Galerie Kugel
Tapestry with a “feuilles d’aristoloche” design - Galerie Kugel
Tapestry with a “feuilles d’aristoloche” design - Galerie Kugel

Tapestry with a “feuilles d’aristoloche” design

Audernarde, circa 1550‑1570
Enquire
Tapestry with a “feuilles d’aristoloche” design - Galerie Kugel

This tapestry is one of the most spectacular and best preserved out of a set out of about six tapestries in various private and public collections. Most are in the vertical format, as in the case of one tapestry in the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of New York. The design is called “feuilles d’artistoloche”, in reference to the dimensions of the leaves and the blueish colours.

It is not known whether these formed a large set or if they were meant as independent pieces that could be bought individually. The design stands out through the balustrade decorated with vases and flanked with seated “wild men” carrying columns. The columns are topped with lions holding a pergola.

None of the related tapestries bear either a mark nor a signature, yet the weaving and colour scheme is closely associated with other works signed from Audernarde. The comparative in the Metropolitan Museum is described as “Netherlands, circa 1540-1550”.

Tapestry with a “feuilles d’aristoloche” design - Galerie Kugel
Tapestry with a “feuilles d’aristoloche” design - Galerie Kugel

Retour

Tapisserie à décor de feuilles d’aristoloche

Audenarde, vers 1550‑1570
Demande d'information

Détails

Laine et soie
320 × 525 cm

Provenance

Collection privée, France

Bibliographie comparative

Cavallo A., Medieval Tapestries in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, 1993, cat. 52b, p. 602

Retour
Tapisserie à décor de feuilles d’aristoloche - Galerie Kugel
Tapisserie à décor de feuilles d’aristoloche - Galerie Kugel
Tapisserie à décor de feuilles d’aristoloche - Galerie Kugel

Tapisserie à décor de feuilles d’aristoloche

Audenarde, vers 1550‑1570
Demande d'information
Tapisserie à décor de feuilles d’aristoloche - Galerie Kugel

Cette tapisserie est l’une des plus spectaculaires et des mieux conservées d’une série dont on connait environ six exemplaires dans des collections privées et publiques. La plupart sont d’un format vertical, à l’instar d’une au Metropolitan Museum de New York. Le décor est appelé feuilles d’aristoloche en référence aux dimensions des feuilles et aux couleurs bleutées.

On ne sait si elles formaient une longue suite ou s’ils s’agissaient de pièces indépendantes pouvant être achetées à la demande. Le décor se caractérise par une balustrade rythmée de vases et encadrée par des hommes sauvages assis supportant des colonnes. Elles sont surmontées de lions soutenant une pergola. Les tapisseries peuvent ainsi être accolées au rythme des pilastres.

Aucun exemplaire de cette série ne porte de marque ou de signature mais les coloris et le tissage s’apparente à des pièces signées d’Audenarde. L’exemplaire du Metropolitan est décrit comme « Netherlands, about 1540–1550 ».

Tapisserie à décor de feuilles d’aristoloche - Galerie Kugel
Tapisserie à décor de feuilles d’aristoloche - Galerie Kugel